A need to know basis

Posted: September 12, 2013 in #fridayflash, Short stories

“Do you know?”

“Do I know what?”

“Do you know what I know? About Jemma.”

“Yeah, she told me.  How do you know?

“I know because they told me.”

“Do they know then?”

“They know! “

“Do they know I know?”

“I don’t know.  I know they don’t want to know”

“Who else knows?”

“It’s a need to know basis, that much I do know.”

“Do they know, that you know, that I know?”

“I don’t think so, they’d say if they knew that you know.  Amy will go mad.”

“I know.  I wonder if her brother knows.”

“We’d all know if her brother knows.  Josh wouldn’t know what had hit him.”

“So what do we do now? Should I tell them I know?”

“No, don’t tell them you know.  Pretend we don’t know if anyone asks.“

“She needs to know she has our support.”

“I know. She knows that we’re behind her.”

“I wish I didn’t know though to be honest.”

“You know what, so do I!”

Comments
  1. brainhaze says:

    An experinemental piece. Firstly this is all dialogue, something I’ve not tried before. Secondly, someone once said to me I bet you can’t write something that contains the same word over and over again, as well as keeping people guessing. Well, after overhearing a conversation between two teenage girls I adapted their conversation slightly to help me to meet this challenge…

  2. John Wiswell says:

    For your first time in all-dialogue you used some good tricks. Have them recapitulate on a point and expand the frame of reference from there worked well, especially the summon the notion of gossip. It is the sort of conversation I want to run screaming from, but that’s because it rings authentic enough to work!

  3. Icy Sedgwick says:

    I’ve felt like this before – sounds really plausible!

  4. Beverly Fox says:

    I find it shocking that this conversation would originate with two teenage girls- totally out of character for them. (That’s extreme sarcasim, BTW).

  5. Steve Green says:

    Hahahahahahaha!! Brilliant. 😀

    Great use of repetition, very well done.

  6. Larry Kollar says:

    It works! It works! The conversation feels pitch-perfect for a pair of teenies.

    I’m guessing their friend is “in a family way,” as they used to say over here.

  7. […] A need to know basis by brainhaze ~ @brainhazewp ~ Between 100 and 500 words ~ Slice of Life […]

  8. I liked this! It sounded like something from The Muppet Show, or Portlandia. Or something. You know?

  9. ganymeder says:

    I’m guessing the big secret is they wore white AFTER Labor Day. I’m right, right? Or is that wrong? 🙂

Leave a Reply

